

BOARD OF TRUSTEES Minutes of the Regular Meeting December 15, 2016

I. CALL TO ORDER.

The regular meeting of the Des Plaines Public Library Board of Trustees was held in the second floor conference room on Thursday, December 15, 2016. President Sarlo called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

II. ROLL CALL.

Roll call indicated the following board members were present: Kris Graack, Denise Hudec, Bruce Lester, Rich Pope, Gregory Sarlo, Patricia Thompson, Earl Wilson, Carol Kidd.

Absent: Steve Mokry, Vince Rangel.

Also present: Holly Richards Sorensen, Roberta Johnson, Jo Bonell, Heather Imhoff, Stephanie Spetter, John Jasionowski.

- III. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE.
- IV. CONSIDERATION OF THE AGENDA.

MOTION by Bruce Lester, seconded by Kris Graack, to approve the Agenda, as presented. VOTE: AYES: All. NAYS: None. MOTION CARRIED.

V. PUBLIC COMMENTS AND QUESTIONS.

None.

VI. CITY COUNCIL COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE – Alderman Malcolm Chester.

Alderman Chester was not in attendance.

VII. CONSENT AGENDA.

MOTION by Bruce Lester, seconded by Rich Pope, to approve the Consent Agenda, as presented. VOTE: AYES: All. NAYS: None. MOTION CARRIED.

VIII. NEW BUSINESS.

A. Approve Payment of Vendor Checks Report and ACH Payments -\$275,495.10.

MOTION by Rich Pope, seconded by Kris Graack, to approve payment of vendor checks and ACH Payments in the amount of \$275,495.10 as listed on the vendor checks report of November 2016 and authorize Director Sorensen to have transferred the amount required to the library's operating account. VOTE: AYES: All. NAYS: None. MOTION CARRIED.

B. Approve Per Capita Grant Application.

MOTION by Bruce Lester, seconded by Rich Pope, to approve the Per Capita Grant application, as presented. VOTE: AYES: All. NAYS: None. MOTION CARRIED.

- C. Resolutions.
 - 1. Appropriation and Levy.

MOTION by Kris Graack, seconded by Bruce Lester, to approve the 2017 Appropriations and 2015 Levy for Library Purposes for Des Plaines Public Library. ROLL CALL VOTE: AYES: Graack, Hudec, Lester, Pope, Thompson, Wilson, Sarlo. NAYS: None. MOTION CARRIED.

2. Travel Reimbursement Policy in Accordance with the Local Government Travel Expense Control Act.

MOTION by Patricia Thompson, seconded by Kris Graack, to approve the Travel Reimbursement Policy in Accordance with the Local Government Travel Expense Control Act. VOTE: AYES: All. NAYS: None. MOTION CARRIED.

- IX. ANNOUNCEMENTS.
- X. CORRESPONDENCE.

XI. EXECUTIVE SESSION – TO DISCUSS

A. Semi-Annual Review of Executive Session Minutes

MOTION by Bruce Lester, seconded by Kris Graack, to enter into Executive Session at 7:19 p.m. for Semi-Annual Review of Executive Session Minutes. VOTE: AYES: All. NAYS: None. MOTION CARRIED.

The regular session reconvened at 7:47 p.m. and was called to order by President Sarlo.

- XII. (REGULAR SESSION) ACTION.
 - A. Semi-Annual Review of Executive Session Minutes.

MOTION by Rich Pope, seconded by Bruce Lester, to concur with the consensus in Executive Session that the following Executive Session minutes no longer require confidential treatment and are available for public inspection:

June 16, 2016-Semi-Annual Review of Executive Session Minutes.

And to concur with the consensus in Executive Session that the following minutes will be retained:

July 15, 2008 – Appointment, Employment, Compensation, Discipline or Performance of a Specific Employee. VOTE: AYES: All. NAYS: None. MOTION CARRIED.

XII. ADJOURNMENT.

MOTION by Rich Pope, seconded by Bruce Lester to adjourn the regular meeting. VOTE: AYES: All. NAYS: None. MOTION CARRIED.

Meeting adjourned at 7:48 p.m.

Minutes prepared Carol Kidd.