Archive for January, 2015

Spotlight

Why learn another language?

"If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his own language, that goes to his heart." - Nelson Mandela

You’ve most likely heard all the reasons.

By learning another language you will:

  • Improve your job prospects in a global market
  • Learn about another culture
  • Sharpen your mind
  • Have more fun on a trip
  • Make new friends
  • Impress your old friends – maybe even your kids

Whatever your reason, we have resources that can help and even make it fun!

Continue Reading "Why learn another language?"

Spotlight

What Happens Every January 19th?  It’s a Mystery!

The Edgar Awards
January 19th is an exciting day for readers of Mystery and Suspense Fiction. What happens every January 19th?  I'll give you a hint.  Each year, this event falls on the birthday of the undisputed "Father of the Detective Story" (think beating hearts and ravens). 

Yes, it's the annual announcement of the Edgar Award Nominees, named after Edgar Allen Poe, and honoring the previous year's best Mystery and Suspense.

Continue Reading "What Happens Every January 19th?  It’s a Mystery!"

Staff Picks

I Resolve…Not to Resolve. Instead, my 5 goals for 2015

I check out a huge amount of non-fiction and self-help books from the library.  One of my favorite things to do is wander up to the New Books section on the 4th floor to see what's new in diet, fitness, self-help, personal development, spirituality, home improvement, crafts, frugal living and personal finance.

Continue Reading "I Resolve…Not to Resolve. Instead, my 5 goals for 2015"